MGCCC celebrates Homecoming 2012

October 31, 2012

From left: Jackson County Campus vice president Dr. Carmen J. Walters watches as MGCCC president Dr. Mary S. Graham crowns Jackson County Campus Homecoming queen Shaudell Ellise Brooks during halftime on Homecoming day.

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College celebrated Homecoming 2012 with fanfare and football.  The event was held at the college’s Perkinston Campus and culminated with the Bulldogs defeating the East Central Warriors 41-0.

The day’s festivities began with a breakfast reception recognizing former Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society members and celebrating the 75th anniversary of the organization’s first charter at the college.  (The Gamma Nu Chapter at Harrison-Stone-Jackson Junior College in Perkinston, now the Perkinston Campus, was chartered on January 15, 1937.) Other events on Homecoming day included the Alumni Art Show, Archives Exhibit, Chapel Service and dedication of the Willis H. Lott Learning Resources Center. The cookout, at which special guests included reunion groups (classes of 1952, 1962 and 1987), former Phi Theta Kappa members and the 1982 state-champion football team, was held at the Dr. Ottis G. Ball Bell Tower and Carillon.

The annual Clem Dellenger Memorial Golf Tournament and Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony was held on Friday, October 26, prior to Homecoming day.  The tournament raises money for the Bulldog Club to help all athletics and support groups.  Athletic Hall of Fame honorees were recognized during a ceremony held at the Beau Rivage Resort and Casino in Biloxi on Friday evening.  Honorees included Jerry Mike Covich III, baseball; John Jay Fletcher, football; Jake Kuharich, golf; Debbie S. Triplett, women’s basketball; Gary Lee Roberts, men’s basketball; and Terry Clark Helms, football.  Diane Marie (Poulos) Sekul, former Bulldog cheerleader manager, was inducted into the Bulldog Hall of Honor, and Gregory “Buddy” Allen Mills received the Spirit of Gulf Coast Award.

The Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held Homecoming Day in Malone Hall on the Perkinston Campus.  Honorees included Sandra (Gollott) Fletcher, Jackson County Campus; Dennis Burke, Jefferson Davis Campus; Dr. Houston “Ken” Seay, Perkinston Campus.  Dr. Willis H. Lott, MGCCC president emeritus, received the Sam Owen Trophy.

The 2012 Homecoming courts were recognized during halftime at A.L. May Memorial Stadium.  The queens from each campus were Shaudell Ellise Brooks, Jackson County Campus; Sarah Leigh Crosswhite, Jefferson Davis Campus; and Kristi Bradley, Perkinston Campus.  Maids from the Jackson County Campus were Ryann Jourdan Breneman, Christian LeAnn Parsley, Kristian Harvey and Hannah Elaine Mallette, and football maid Emily Dianne Dixon.  Jefferson Davis Campus maids were Hannah Claire Stewart, Danielle Nicole Johnson, Brianna Marie Evans, Hayley M. Whitehead and football maid Kaelen Nolf.  From the Perkinston Campus, maids were Kaitlyn Benton, Megan Crystal Clark, Breanna Ree Ardoin and Carissa Danielle Harris.

Dr. Mary S. Graham introduces Dr. Willis H. Lott, president emeritus, during the dedication of the new Willis H. Lott Learning Resources Center on the Perkinston Campus. The dedication was held on Homecoming Day.

Almost 70 golfers participated in the annual Clem Dellenger Memorial Golf Tournament held on October 26 at Windance Country Club.

Comments are closed.