MGCCC summer recognition ceremony held for nursing and allied health graduates

August 22, 2013

Summer graduates in Nursing and Allied Health programs recognized in a ceremony in August.

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College held its Summer Recognition Ceremony for nursing and allied health graduates on August 1 in the Jefferson Davis Campus Fine Arts Auditorium.  Dr. Susan Scaggs, vice president of the Jefferson Davis Campus, spoke to nearly 50 summer graduates of the Emergency Medical Services, Paramedics, Funeral Services Technology, Medical Laboratory Technology, Practical Nursing and Surgical Technology programs.  During the ceremony, the students were pinned and awards were presented.

Student award winners included the following:

  • Matthew Bigelow (Emergency Medical Services): Highest Academic Average Award and the Star of Life Award
  • Valerie Mabry (Funeral Services Technology): Clinical Excellence Award
  • Charity Bass, La ‘Teefah Butler, Dylan Gibson, Lila Nguyen, Jaynie Pearce and Katie Taranto (Medical Laboratory Technology): Attendance Award
  • Jaynie Pearce and Jessica Savell (Medical Laboratory Technology): Academic Achievement Award
  • Brandy Hollis (Practical Nursing): Heart of Gold Award
  • Melanie Kreeger (Surgical Technology): Outstanding Student Award

Graduates for the Emergency Medical Services, Paramedic, program were Matthew Bigelow, Christopher Kagas, Blane Ladner, Michael Payne, Jeffery Saucier, Scott Stuckey and Eric Valles.

In the Funeral Services Technology program, graduates were Tara Donnell, Valerie Mabry, Bill Reeves, Pam Blaylock, Gatlin Burks and Eddy Herring.

In the Medical Laboratory Technology program, graduates were Kaitlyn Abney, Charity Bass, La ‘Teefah Butler, Randi Byrd, Dylan Gibson, Jessica Green, Jessica Hamilton, Christianna Johnson, Tiffany Leblanc, Lila Nguyen, Jaynie Pearce, Jessica Savell, Katie Taranto and Emilie Tisdale.

Graduates in the Practical Nursing program were Tyler Armstrong, Staci Davenport, Melissa Hall Reinike, Brandy Hollis, Sascha Perry, Zipporah Price, Jaclyn Simmons and Kimberly Sanderson.

The Surgical Technology graduates were Ashton Aguilar, Chenea Bilbo, Melissa Dyess, Christa Gannon, Kyle Hart, Ashlee Hicks, Beth Hoda, Melanie Kreeger, Kellie Morano, Amanda Necaise, Delinda Sims, Jessica Stahl, Roxanne Stubbs and Pamela Thigpen.

Comments are closed.